Mother’s Day Supper – The Food

Mother's Day Supper

My sister requested the menu for her Mother’s Day supper. I was pleased because on a scale of 1 to 10 of difficulty, this meal is a 2. I didn’t even need to look up a recipe, that’s how easy it is.  She asked for:

Grilled Chicken

Summer Sauce

New Potatoes

‘Something’ Green

Luckily, our farmer’s market is already in full swing. I scored the eggs & potatoes from one of my regular farmers and fresh asparagus for the something green from a guy who only grows asparagus. I love old man farmers.

The chicken got a marinade in lemon juice, a little vinegar, some finely chopped onion, and oregano. I’m going to get real real here, though. I would have just used Italian salad dressing if I had any in my fridge. As far as grilled chicken goes, Italian salad dressing is the marinade of choice around here. (Is my hillbilly showing?) But alas, I could only find bottles of blue cheese and creamy Caesar dressing and I didn’t deem either an appropriate marinade.

Are you wondering what the heck summer sauce is right now? A Finnish friend made this sauce for our family during a visit to the States years ago. She grew up on a farm and her family would make this sauce nearly every night during {wait for it} summer. They’d douse pretty much everything in it, grilled meats, vegetables, tiny potatoes, toasted bread. If I was forced to be a cannibal while stranded on a desert island, I’m pretty sure a healthy dose of summer sauce would make it go down easier. Of course, if I could make summer sauce, I would have chickens and cows around and wouldn’t need to eat my fellow survivors.

Summer sauce is one of those recipes that just seems to stick in the memory. It only has five ingredients, a simple preparation, and the proportions of each ingredient don’t really matter. We didn’t write it down when our friend made it, we just remembered it. And do still, all these years later.

Feel free to play with these amounts. As long as your flour amount is less than your butter amount, it’ll be good and saucy.

4 hard boiled eggs, peeled and roughly chopped

6 Tablespoons butter

1 bunch green onions, green and white parts chopped

2 Tablespoons flour

1-1/2 cups milk

Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add green onions and sweat until softened but not browned. Add flour, stirring well, and cook 2 minutes. Slowly add milk while stirring, cook until sauce is warmed and slightly thickened, but don’t boil. Add the eggs and let heat through. Season with salt and pepper and serve immediately.

As promised, here are the pics of what happens when you force a ten year old to sit at a table with decorations.

_______________________________________________________________________

Today I am grateful for
getting lots of good book recommendations last night
Snowball coming over tonight to be my first sale for Ready, Set, Party
Boar’s Head pesto ham
only getting 1 mosquito bite so far this year

Leave a Reply

