Too much too muchness

Hmm, I am not sure what to make of these tabletop themes from the folks over at BHLDN. Charming? Yes. Whimsical? Yup. Assaulting my eyeballs? That, too.

These are supposed to be fantasy type inspiration tables, but it’s all just too much. BHLDN’s product line is really impressive, but in these tabletops the actual products are lost in an overwhelming sea of stuff. That’s not really ideal for marketing your wares, nor should it be the goal for an actual party. Guests should feel comfortable at a table, not like they are getting crowded out by gang of uptight floral arrangements or a mob of perfectly tousled ‘vintage’ napkins.

I’m not trying to begrudge these displays. A lot of people obviously worked very hard to put them together. However, I don’t want tables like these to overwhelm anyone and prevent them from even trying. These are not the norm, nor  should they even be something to aspire to! One or two elements from any of these tables would be doable and totally charming and non-eye assaulting. Don’t take these at face value and think it’s not worth throwing a party without 8 quirky cake stands. Parties should be fun and about making memories, not 12 feet of vintage wall paper bunting (though truthfully, for me, that would be fun). So, take what inspiration you will from the tables, but do not let it intimidate you out of being a host! You can do it, and your guests will never miss that sackful of perfectly color-coordinated jordan almonds.

2 thoughts on “Too much too muchness

  1. yeah, I’m going to have to agree with you on this one. I do love BHLDN and anything Anthropologie spits out, but you have to look at their displays sometimes knowing it’s a bit too much. That being said, I still love their eye candy. I really love the banner they made in the last picture and will certainly save that idea for later!

    Found you via Little White Whale and love your blog!!

    • Thanks, Laura, glad to know I am not alone. I also do love that banner. I’m kind of a hypocrite because I actually DO have a stash of vintage wallpaper samples that would be perfect for it!

Leave a Reply

