Mmm, mmm, fried pickles!

Fried Pickles

Have I mentioned my deep and abiding love for all things pickled? It’s true, I’m a vinegar-aholic. I’ll try anything that’s been pickled, and that includes eggs and pigs feet. Take me to a restaurant that has house made pickles and watch me swoon.

I suppose it was only a matter of time before I took pickling into my own hands. It’s been several years (and several hundred jars) since I started, but I had never gotten around to deep frying any of my pickle creations. That all changed this past Sunday.

Fried Pickles

Crispy, tangy, a little sweet, and down-right addictive, I’m going to have to restrain myself from frying every jar of pickles I put up this year. We used a deep fryer to cook these babies, but they would be fine fried in (a lot) of oil in a pan on the stove top if you are unlucky enough not to posses a deep fryer.

Fried Pickles

1 pint of pickle slices, home made if you’re up to it, or purchased from a nice lady at the farmer’s market

1/2 cup cornmeal

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1 Tablespoon Old Bay seasoning

a frightening amount of vegetable oil for frying

Drain pickles and set aside. Combine the cornmeal, flour, and Old bay. Dredge each pickle slice through the cornmeal-flour mixture to coat well. Drop slices into hot oil and cook until golden brown, will only take a minute or two. Let cool a few minutes before gobbling up and serve with a little ranch dressing for dipping. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Mmm, mmm, fried pickles!

  1. I am with you on loving vinegar. Kai makes fun of me for it all the time. Pickles, vinegar based salad dressings, sauerkraut … mmm mmm mmmmm!

    That being said, this recipe could be dangerous for me …

Leave a Reply

