Insta-Party: Crime Scene Martini and Toasted Spiced Walnuts

Crime Scene Martini Insta-Party

I’ve been thinking a lot about people ‘popping’ over. As in, how no one seems to really do that anymore. Modern life is so scheduled and hectic it seems like every social gathering has to have negotiated dates and times for all parties involved. Wouldn’t it be great to bring back just popping over? In that vein, I’ve developed a new blog feature I’m calling Insta-Parties. Most Wednesdays (note, I did not give myself the kiss of death by saying every Wednesday), I’ll post a quick drink and appetizer recipe that can be thrown together in a few minutes. I’m going to start encouraging my friends to give me a call next time they’re in my neighborhood with a few minutes to spare. I hope you’ll do the same and give these Insta-Parties a try!

Crime Scene Martini Insta-Party

This blood red delicious concoction is the crime scene martini. I first tried this at a local restaurant years ago. Essentially, it’s a bloody mary shaken to be very cold and served in a martini glass. I’ve actually come to prefer my bloody marys this way, however, expect some raised eyebrows when pulling out the martini glasses and shaker at noon on a Sunday.

Recipe for 1 Crime Scene Martini

1 ounce vodka

2 ounces Clamato

splash of lemon juice

splash of Worcestershire sauce (PS – totally spelled that right without spell check, score!)

lemon pepper and red pepper strip to garnish

Combine vodka, Clamato, lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce in a cocktail shaker with plenty of ice. Shake 100 times (yes, I really mean 100, do it in sets of 50). Pour into a martini glass and garnish with lemon pepper and red pepper strip.

Crime Scene Martini Insta-Party

Being able to toast up some nuts with spices and a little butter is a very convenient technique to master. Nuts keep pretty well, so they’re a great ingredient to stash in the pantry. This little snack comes together in less than 5 minutes, which is perfect for an Insta-Party!

Serves 2 or 3 as a snack

1 cup walnut halves

1 Tablespoon butter

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

Melt butter over medium heat in a skillet. Add nuts and toss to coat in butter. Add Worcestershire sauce, paprika, salt, and pepper. Let nuts toast about 3 minutes. Remove from heat and serve warm or at room temp.

3 thoughts on “Insta-Party: Crime Scene Martini and Toasted Spiced Walnuts

  1. An ocean breeze meets tomato juice, perfect!! The toasted walnuts look delicious, I can’t wait to try those at home!

Leave a Reply

