Insta-Party: Marinated Smoked Oysters and Cherry Black Velvet

Marinated Smoked Oysters and Black Velvet

Do you have any people in your life that you like, but also really want to impress? It could be a mother in law, or a boss, or a fashionable new friend. This is the insta-party for them. It’s rich, delicious, and impressive. AND it’s not too hard on the wallet, but your guest won’t know that! Smoked oysters are one of my favorite treats. They can be found in any grocery store (look near the canned tuna), are budget friendly, but taste decadent. I like mine on a cracker with a large squeeze of fresh lemon, but squirting a guest in the eyeball with lemon juice is pretty bad party behavior. But squeeze the lemon over the oysters before serving, toss on some fresh parsley, and whoa.

Marinated Smoked Oysters and Black Velvet

Marinated Smoked Oysters (serves 2)

1 tin smoked oysters, drained

juice from 1/2 lemon

1/2 teaspoon olive oil

fresh parsley, torn into small bits

Combine all ingredients and stir gently. The oysters are fragile, so a vigorous stir will pulverize them. The result would still be tasty, but not very pretty. Serve with crackers (and you know by crackers, I mean Triscuits).

Marinated Smoked Oysters and Black Velvet

I told my husband I was going to try a new recipe for a drink that involved stout and sparkling wine. He looked at me like I had two heads. He got even less pleased when I requested one of his special cherry stout home brews for said experiment. Then he tasted it. Direct quote – ‘When you told me about this, I thought it was a piss poor idea. But this is actually really tasty.’ I rest my case.

Cherry Black Velvet (makes one drink)

Cherry Stout (or regular stout like Guinness, see below for addition)

Cava

Maraschino cherry juice (if you can’t find cherry stout)

Combine all ingredients and stir gently. Serve in a champagne flute, mostly because it’s pretty awesome to see a black drink in a champagne flute.

2 thoughts on “Insta-Party: Marinated Smoked Oysters and Cherry Black Velvet

  1. Stephanie,
    How much maraschino cherry juice do you need for this if I can’t find a cherry stout? I wonder if this would be good with a coffee stout… These insta-parties are so much fun, easy ideas and the ingredients are usually easy to keep on hand for those “just in case” moments!

    • Hi, Sarah! You don’t need much cherry juice, probably 1/2 – 1 teaspoon depending on how much cherry you like. I bet coffee stout would be yummy, or a vanilla porter. Glad you’re enjoying the Insta-Parties, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

