Insta-Party: Amaretto Sours and Prosciutto Wrapped Artichokes

Amaretto sour and prosciutto wrapped artichoke hearts

It’s SPRING, y’all! At least it is in my little corner of the world. The Bradford pear trees are in full bloom, the redbuds are ready to pop and there are daffodils everywhere I look. Plus, I have finally made it through the big project at work that has kept me busy, busy. busy and which taught me that I actually don’t mind working 12 hour days or 6-day work weeks in pursuit of a common goal with people I enjoy. More details to come on the project as the final pictures come together. At the end of the project, I was asked if I felt like I was letting my baby out into the real world, and in a way I do. But I think it fits perfectly into spring’s spirit of renewal and rebirth.

This week’s Insta-Party feels like a little spring party to me. It should be eaten al fresco on a porch under the sun with a slightly chilly breeze blowing Bradford pear blossoms across the yard.

Amaretto sour and prosciutto wrapped artichoke hearts

I really like me some amaretto sour. It’s sweet, it’s sour, and it tastes decadent. That could be because one amaretto sour has approximately 1.5 million calories in it, but who cares? I like to squeeze a little fresh orange juice into mine to add some freshness to the bottled sour mix.

Amaretto Sour, makes one drink

2 ounces amaretto liqueur

2 ounces sour mix

juice from half an orange

Combine all ingredients and serve over ice in a rocks class.

Amaretto sour and prosciutto wrapped artichoke hearts

It’s a proven fact that like bacon, prosciutto makes everything it touches taste better. These are super tasty cold, but I wouldn’t complain if you wanted to stick them under a hot broiler for a minute to melt the cheese and crisp the prosciutto.

Prosciutto Wrapped Artichokes, makes one dozen

3 whole artichoke hearts from a can (not the marinated artichoke hearts), drained and cut into quarters

12 small (1/2″ x 1″ approx) slices Asiago cheese

2 pieces very thinly sliced prosciutto, each cut into 6 long strips about 1/2″ wide

Vinaigrette of your choice

Place 1 slice cheese on each artichoke heart quarter. Wrap a thin strip of prosciutto around each stack of cheese and artichoke. Arrange on a platter and drizzle a little vinaigrette over each piece.

One thought on “Insta-Party: Amaretto Sours and Prosciutto Wrapped Artichokes

Leave a Reply

